Artistic Avenger

The Captain’s Challenge

3 Comments

img_2780-mediumcopy.jpg
So, here is my take on Greg’s challenge this week. Not only did I try hard to follow the rules (use the following colours: Soft Sky, More Mustard, Certainly Celery) but also the sketch (although I did turn it on it’s side). I don’t think he’ll mind, he’s got a soft spot for me…..

I also tried to make it a little harder on myself and not use a floral set – OUCH! That was a hard one. And, of course, I had to try for the bonus points by using some paper piercing and brads.

The card base is Certainly Celery and it is layered with a piece of More Mustard which was stamped with my Itty Bitty Backgrounds and then direct to paper edged. BONUS: the thick black strip is paper pierced double down both sides.

The focal point is first layered onto Soft Sky, then Basic Black. Now, my tendancy would be to put a white layer and then watercolour an image but I resisted! I pulled out my More Mustard Craft pad and stamped an image from Big Pieces. Partly, I used this set because I like it but also cause Greg does. Then I pulled out my Big Deal Alphabet and stamped “hi” using celery and sky ink. BONUS – I used a rhinestone brad to dot the “i”.

I added a little doodling on the Soft Sky background piece and topped it off with “friend” from Amazing to Zany stamped onto a mustard tab.

If you haven’t tried one of Greg’s challenges, you TOTALLY should. They are great and inspiring.

3 thoughts on “The Captain’s Challenge

  1. This is such a wonderful card, love those stamped flower circles behind your “hi”

  2. OH way super cute! I really really like this! Way to go Carrie.

  3. I love this card! Thanks for the great write up – it’s nice to hear how it all comes together. Great job!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

