Artistic Avenger

Hold Onto Your Hats, People!

5 Comments

I used a non-Stampin’ Up! stamp!!!

I’m a Stampin’ Up! NUT! I love the company, love to sell the products, yadda yadda yadda. But, I found a new Canadian rubber stamping company who I fell instantly in LOVE with. Sunshine Designs.

They are based out of Wallacetown, Ontario and is run by a lovely woman named Krista Schneider. I purchased a “Nuggitz” stamp (birdhouses) as well as a wonderful teapot stamp. What I love about these stamps are how whimsical they are! Also, along with the stamps, Krista has perfected a lovely watercolouring with markers technique that she teaches when she travels across Canada. You can also purchase a colour sheet when you get stamps with pictoral colour guides.

When I contacted Krista to purchase some stamps, I was first directed to find a local retailer, of which there are none. She was great and did a customer direct order just to me! And, I was SO happy to find out that they are going to be adding online purchasing soon! Yippee! The personal customer service was fantastic and I can only assume their online service will be also.

This is my first card with my Nuggitz.

img_2772-mediumcopy.jpg

I stamped the birdhouse in Jet Black StazOn onto Confetti white paper. I used various ink colours and my aquapainter to watercolour the image. I layered the image on black and Summer Sun. The backing layer is Blue Bayou and it stamped with the fantastic Paisley background stamp in Blue Bayou ink. Again, this is layered with black and adhered to a Kraft cardstock base. I tied around some black grosgrain ribbon and added a birthday salutation from Hugs and Wishes in Black Craft ink.

Now, I could not get a great picture (don’t know why) but here is what my Nuggitz looks like:

img_2774-mediumcopy.jpg

I hope you get a chance to check out the site. There are some great card samples to look at and, it seems, even more to come!

5 thoughts on “Hold Onto Your Hats, People!

  1. The watercolouring looks great. I just can’t seem to get the hang of it myself! Does Krista have an online tutorial? I guess I’ll have to check out her website. Thanks for the information! I really like your card as well. The Blue Bayou and black look really sharp together.

  2. Great card. The stamp is really cute!! Welcome to ink-stains!! I can’t wait to see some more of your work in the gallery :)I

  3. GREAT card!!! GREAT COLORS!!!

  4. This card is great, the stamp is adorable.

  5. Love it, love it, love it!!! It’s really cute. I’ll have to try a card like that with the Paisley BG. It looks great with the birdhouses.

    I’m a SU nut too, but I have to agree with you on Sunshine Design stamps. I’ve got lots of Nuggitz and some of the other ones too. You can order them from Heather’s Stamping Haven in Nepean, Heather does mail order. That should tide you over till Krista does CDO’s 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

