Artistic Avenger

Yep, I’m cheap – and thats okay! (a tutorial on using scrap paper)

20 Comments

But not too cheap to already have ordered from the NEW catalogue! I’m pretty darn excited about it too! Alas, this is not what this post is about. What is it about? Scraps. I just can’t bear to throw scraps of paper away.

Last night as I was finishing (yes finishing) my Convention Swaps, I had all these lee-tle pieces of Prints Designer Paper left over.

img_2755-mediumcopy.jpg

Whatever was I going to do with them? I couldn’t just throw them away! So, I thought back to my days in school and here is what I did.

I started by putting them all together in a line and joined them with some Sticky Strip on the back like this:

img_2756-mediumcopy.jpg

I then started to weave the different colours through, keeping it very tight together.

img_2757-mediumcopu.jpg

And, I kept going till it started to look like this:

img_2758-mediumcopy.jpg

Then, I finished the other end just as I’d started it, by putting some Sticky Strip along the finished edge. I then trimmed it a bit, backed it and layered it only a cute little card.

img_2759-mediumcopu.jpg

I put the woven piece on some black cardstock and adhered to a white card base. I paper pierced under the band in a straight line. I stamped the large flower from Doodle This onto Rose Red and cut it out. I adhered a So Saffon button in the centre of the flower and used some scrap ribbon to boot! This is the leftover piece of some frayed ribbon.

Now, I was left with some scraps I was determined to use up.

img_2761-mediumcopy.jpg

What to do with these? They are pretty small but still usable. So, inspired by my friend’s new baby’s room, I came up with this.

img_2763-mediumcopy.jpg

I thought the little stripes (tone on tone) kinda looked like wainscott, doesn’t it? Of course I used the great Wild About You giraffe and”welcome” from Warm Words.
I hope this post has inspired you to use up those scraps!

20 thoughts on “Yep, I’m cheap – and thats okay! (a tutorial on using scrap paper)

  1. WOW! Both of these cards are great. I’ve often thought about doing this but could never get enough energy. After seeing your wonderful cards I will muster up the energy to at least CASE one of them.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Now that is really clever…not cheap…..clever!

  3. These are awesome…I love the weaving!

  4. What cute cards, and a great use of your scraps!

  5. Great job and what creative ways to use your scraps. I LOVE your ideas.

  6. Hi Carrie! What fabulous ideas! You’re cards are so great! I have so much scrap, but ilke you say, I can’t throw it away! NO WAY! I think I’ll be doing lots of weaving….LOL. Thank you for sharing your great ideas!

    Tara

  7. WOW. Both of these cards are so pretty & what a great idea for using up all your scraps. Thanks for sharing this great idea.

  8. OK — Now that is a fantastic idea!!! I will definately need to use it.

    Thanks for leaving the comments on my site. You can CASE me for your class if you would like, (I would be honored!!!)

  9. That is such a cool idea! I love it!

  10. These cards look fabulous. What a neat idea… TFS!

  11. Wow!! What a great idea with such beautiful results! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Karen

  12. well aren’t you clever? Great idea/tutorial. Love that you don’t like to toss your scraps, I hate to part with mine too. Although what you do with yours is so much more creative than what I do with mine… I keep mine in a scrap pile until I decide that I need to clean and in a mad cleaning dash I take the scraps from my pile and put them in the pile that I let the kids use. The kids have fun with my scraps, to the point that if I’ve cut into a full size sheet they like to think that anything not used on my one card is theirs (still trying to break them of that habit).

  13. What a great idea! Now I’m going to have to go through all my scraps!

  14. Oh my gosh!!! This is the cutest thing I’ve seen!! You are terrific!!! Hope to case these soon. Thanks so much!!

  15. Amazing card- what a great idea. I don’t usually save the skinny scraps- thanks!

  16. I absolutely love this! You did a great job.

  17. Frugal, not cheap! I have to try this one!

  18. Thanks for this tip. I will give it a try in a very short time as I have more and more scraps… and my christmas presents are at last finished and given.

  19. Just amazing. I am always looking for more ways to use up my scraps. Thank you so much for sharing. Love the cards so much, I am going to scrap lift for an idea for a scrapbook page and include a few other cards too.
    Happily Scrapbooking & Crafting My Memories~Sandra V.
    http://OhMyScraps2U.blogspot.com

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

