Artistic Avenger

A Sketch Challenge for the challenged (that would be me)

5 Comments

Today has been a bad stamping day. I usually try to get the SCS challenge for the day done before 7am and the kids get up and have to get ready for school. I had great intentions but this did not happen today. I was so stuck on the sketch challenge for this week.

I knew I wanted to have the cross panel as my focal point but just could not decide on a stamp. Nothing was working. Then, I went to clean Avery’s room for the 6th time today and, low and behold, I find one of the Micheal’s stamps I got for her. It was like I had fireworks going off in the “idea centre” of my brain! So, I ran to my window ledge (yes, I stamp on a window ledge….just keep reading, I’ll clarify later) and pulled out some colours. I am so in love with my Earth Elements colours right now so I instantly went there. I grabbed some Ruby Red and Real Rust cardstock and, of course, black to layer.

The card base is basic black with a first layer of Real Rust. I took my marker and drew doodle lines around the outside of the rust piece. The next layer is Ruby Red layered on black. I stamped the rectangle outline from Simple Shapes randomly on the cardstock and also added a few black dots here and there. I wanted to mirror the rectangle from the focal image in the background.

The focal image was stamped in Basic Black ink on Confetti White cardstock. I used my Aquapainter and Ruby Red, Real Rust, More Mustard and Garden Green ink to watercolour. I layered it on black and then onto the card. But, I was not happy. I it needed something more.

Remember: using Jet Black StazOn is really the best black ink to use when watercolouring.

I punched two 1 1/4″ circles and folded them around the sides. On one side, I punched a 1/8″ hole and tied in some black gingham ribbon. On the other, I added a button through which I’d tied some of said gingham ribbon. Then I adhered the focal piece on with dimensionals.

My husband came home and asked who made the card for me so maybe this is not my usual style but I love the warmth of the colours!

Oh yeah, the ledge thing….I have a large window ledge in my kids playroom. I find that I am most creative there. Plus, I can start something and leave it there during the day and no one will touch it. I’ll add a pic of my “special space” in a day or so!

5 thoughts on “A Sketch Challenge for the challenged (that would be me)

  1. This is terrific!

  2. Great card, love the colors and embellishments

  3. This is a wonderful card.
    Alli

  4. I did make a comment but something went wrong. I commented on how much I like the colours that were used. I really like this card.

  5. Thanks guys! Love the support.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

