Artistic Avenger

Two challenges…check!

1 Comment

img_2536-mediumcopy.jpg
I was a little deliquent in getting Greg’s sketch challenge done. His challenge, along with a great sketch, was to use two punches in your design and punching a hole for a brad would not count….meanie. I then checked out the colour challenge on SCS this morning and thought I’d combine the two challenges.

I started out with Eat Cake. I waffle on this set. Sometimes I love it and other times it sits for months. I’m kinda into birthday cards right now (but I should be working on Convention swaps!). Anyhow, I pulled out the colour challenge colours next: Certainly Celery, Elegant Eggplant and Ruby Red. Then I pulled out punches. I felt like going with a circle theme today.

I started by punching out some circles with my 3/4″ circle punch in eggplant and layering them on a piece of ruby cardstock. I layered that onto some celery and adhered it to the card. Easy (and done). Then, for the focal piece, I inked up the cake and candles with Ruby Red, Certainly Celery and Elegant Eggplant markers. I paper pierced down one side (can’t have a card without that!) and used my ticket corner punch on each corner and then did the same with some celery cardstock. Nice but something was missing.

I pulled out my Circle of Friendship set (I feel the same way about this one as Eat Cake) and took my markers to it. I used my 1 1/4″, 1 3/8″ and 1/2″ circle punches on this one. But, it still needed something else. I took my large oval punch and punched a piece of Ruby Red. I cut that in half and adhered to the back of the circle sentiment. I then used my 1/8″ punch to punch ribbon holes through. I tied some eggplant grosgrain through and adhered to the card.

Lastly, I stamped the stars from Eat Cake in eggplant down the left side of the card.

This card felt good to make. I was in a bit of a slump this morning and not feeling very creative. We had our local demo meeting last night and, although a very great and creative time, sometimes I come away from the meetings feeling less than creative. Don’t know why, I just do. This card has made me feel better.

So, can I write this off as a therapy session?

One thought on “Two challenges…check!

  1. Great card, love the sketch and color combo

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

