Artistic Avenger

Retro Stocking (MM39)

10 Comments

Well, today is my last day with Merry Monday as a Featured Designer. What a great month it’s been! These ladies really know how to do up the holidays!

For my last card, I had something COMPLETELY different in mind when I sat down. Different colours, different stamp sets, everything. Don’t you love how the creative mind works?

Here’s the sketch.

I started with a Crumb Cake base on which I stamped the snowflake image with Soft Suede. I love this combo.

Next, I used the new (and not really sure I like) colour of Summer Starfruit across the centre and lined it some Pool Party behind.

Next, I added some Soft Suede designer paper to a piece of Soft Suede card stock and added to the card.

For the banner I knew I wanted to do something a little different so I used the Two Big Tagz die and cut one out in Very Vanilla. I added the sentiment from Delightful Dozen in Soft Suede.

Now, to the tag, I added a scallop circle of Real Red. I love this bright pop of colour. To keep it a little more in the card, I added a loop of Real Red grosgrain and affixed it with a Glimmer brad.

I used my stocking punch to make a stocking of Pool Party which I also embossed with the Snowburst embossing folder.

To finish it all off, I added a top and heal and toe of silver glimmer paper.

This was so much fun to see coming together and I hope you’ll play along with us this week at Merry Monday. Check out what the rest of the design team has come up with too!

10 thoughts on “Retro Stocking (MM39)

  1. Love that fun little stocking and your color combo is so sweet! We are so glad you were able to spend the month with us! :D

  2. what a fun and ♥FABULOUS♥ card & a verrrry cool take on the sketch! i love the colors, and that awesomely textural paper-pieced stocking! ♥

  3. ps: i reallllllllllllllly love that i get a fun monster icon next to my comment on your blog… how COOL is that??!?!?! :) :) :)

  4. I love how this turned out, Carrie! It’s been so nice having you join the Merry Makers each week. Hope we’ll be seeing you in the gallery!

  5. Oh this is fabulous Carrie! Love how you’ve incorporated the tag onto your card – very clever! It’s been fun seeing your gorgeous cards at Merry Monday this month!

  6. Carrie, I enjoy visiting your blog to see your creations. I adore this card. All your cards have neat little details. It’s like your own version of “I Spy” and I love it!

  7. Wondeful card Carrie, you have used a wonderful colour combo and I love the textured stocking.

  8. Thank you for an amazing month Carrie! It was so nice to have you designing with us! Love your retro stocking in blue!

  9. Oh I love the retro look myself – since I am pretty retro compared to all of you guys :) Pool Party works everywhere!

  10. Hey, Carrie! I’m a huge fan of your blog and realized today I hadn’t seen anything from you for a while. Hope you’re well and will be back to sharing your amazing stamping creations soon. God Bless!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers