Artistic Avenger

An Experiment in Colour (MM37)

10 Comments

 

Happy Monday everyone! And today is another instalment of my Guest Designer stint on Merry Monday!

Today’s sketch is awesome and is one that can be used over and over for so many occasions.

I wanted to start this card with a non-traditional colour combination (yes, last week was non-traditional stamps and this week is non-traditional colour….you see where I’m going with this, right?).

The base is Soft Suede and I’ve layered it with a vertical layer of Primrose Petals and Bravo Burgundy. On the burgundy layer, I’ve stamped an image from the Delightful Decorations stamp set.

Next, I needed to tend to the centre area. I cut out an oval with my Big Shot and embossed it. I then added a couple of punches in coordinating colours (Designer Label and Oval) and then I stamped tone-on-tone Crumb Cake and punched out with my Ornament punch.

I added some rhinestones which I actually coloured with my Bravo Burgundy marker to tint them but it’s very hard to tell by the photo.

To finish it off, I added a bow of Linen Thread and some paper piercing with the Essentials pack.

For my sentiment, I used a strip of Crumb Cake card stock and fanned it out over the end of the card.

Thanks so much for stopping by and for enjoying my cards this month. I hope you’ll join me next week!

Check out what the rest of the DT has come up with this week by checking their blogs:

10 thoughts on “An Experiment in Colour (MM37)

  1. I just adore those colours you’ve used for your card Carrie! I’m a huge lover of non traditional colours for Christmas and these soft pretty colours work so well!

  2. Wow, these are beautiful colors to use for a Christmas card….very elegant with the rhinestones, but whimsical with the linen thread! Love it!

  3. Love that ornament and embossed oval, Carrie! These colors work so well together and I would never have thought to use them! Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Awesome colours and the bling is perfect Carrie!

  5. Oh Carrie, I just love this and your awesome color combo! The added rhinestones really make it pop too! :)

  6. Absolutely love this color combo! Great job!

  7. Very interesting color combo for Christmas. I LOVE it! Your cards always have such great detail. The punch art and embossing add a nice texture.

  8. Beautiful card Carrie. I like how you added the pierced shaped at the side of your main focal point.

  9. Fabulous card Carrie, these colours are fantastic together and I love the gems on the ornament.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers