Artistic Avenger

Stick a Pin in It!

14 Comments

This week at Create with Connie and Mary it’s sketch challenge time! Yes, there is a fantastic sketch for you all to try that can be used in so many ways. 

For me, I decided to try to use some new products from the Occasions Mini Catalogue that has just been released. Yeah!

Honestly, I totally wasn’t sold on the colour combination of the Sew Suite from the mini but I really did enjoy working with it for this project.

The base is Melon Mambo which was then layered with Chocolate Chip and then Daffodil Delight. I stamped the left side of the Daffodil layer with the Pattern Pieces stamp and then added a small strip of Sweet Stitches designer paper and tied on some Early Espresso 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon.

The centre of this card has a lot going on. First, I added a square of Wild Wasabi and layered a piece of Sweet Stitches designer paper on some Chocolate Chip. On that layer I added another piece of Chocolate Chip on which I added some Very Vanilla.

I knew I wanted to make one of those tomato pin cushions and had come up with so many different ways to make them. I found that using my 1 1/4″ and 1 3/8 circle punches were just the easiest. I added a flower from the Boho Blossoms punch and some linen thread which is tied onto a Bitty Button at the bottom. All I did was stick the pins into the dimensionals that held the pin cushion together and I also added a tie of Daffodil Delight grosgrain.

Figuring out the sentiment was probably the hardest part of this card for me but I ended up using a saying from Art By Design. Traditionally this stamp would end up on the back of the card but I decided that it’d work on the front for this particular project.

Hope you enjoyed this card and I can’t wait to see what you all come up with using this sketch! Head on over to Create with Connie and Mary and give it a whirl.

Products used to make this project:

Cardstock: Melon Mambo, Wild Wasabi, Daffodil Delight, Very Vanilla, Chocolate Chip.

Ink: Melon Mambo, Wild Wasabi, Daffodil Delight.

Stamps: Art by Design, Pattern Pieces.

Accessories: 1 1/4″ & 1 3/8″ circle punches, Boho Blossoms punch, linen thread, Bitty Buttons, Sweet Stitches designer paper, 5/8″ Early Espresso Grosgrain, crochet lace, Trinkets.

14 thoughts on “Stick a Pin in It!

  1. Isn’t that pin cushion the CUTEST!!!!

  2. LOVE this Carrie!! Your circle tomatoes are brilliant!

  3. This is so awesome! I had to smile when I saw your tomato pin cushion. It brings back so many memories of watching my mom sew. Love it!

  4. Oh Carrie…this card is DA BOMB! I love all the details…you rocked the sketch!

  5. “Sew” very very cute! You are so terribly creative!

  6. OMG you are so smart and creative! How cute is that pin cushion or what? And you even protected the ends of the pins by burying them in the dimensionals……..I could go on and on. Great job!

  7. Oh Carrie–your creativity knows no bounds. Your tomato pincushion is delightful! Fantastic card!

  8. Oh me oh my! I love your card! it’s so clever and just stunning! I made my card this evening for the sketch and will upload tomorrow. It’s kinda a homeage to your amazing card! :-) Amy

  9. What an absolute cute, colorful, fun card! The stitching is waaay cool and the felt tomatos w/pins is neat! :)

  10. Wonderful!
    Sandra ltb

  11. This is adorable – so cute!

  12. Love how you created pin cushions with punches. So cute! Love your card!

  13. I absolutely love this card. Thanks for sharing.

    Linda D.

  14. OMGosh This Totally Stinkin Adorable!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers