Artistic Avenger

Perfect Postcard

14 Comments

I recently purchased the Christmas Postcard stamp from the Holiday Mini catalogue and I need to be honest, I really had no idea what to do with it! So, when I saw the Stamping 411 challenge this week, I was inspired (and determined) to use this stamp!

This card is really quite simple and I’m happy about that because I’m going to use it as one of my Stamp-A-Stack cards this holiday season.

Crumb Cake is the base of this card and I’ve added a layer of Bravo Burgundy and then a strip of Deck the Halls designer paper. I ran it through the Big Shot with the Petals a Plenty embossing folder and then sanded a little bit for a distressed look.

Next, I wanted to add a scallop edge with something extra so I used my Pennant die and cut the scallop edge with stitching.

The central panel is actually a tag cut from the Two Big Tags Die and my Sizzix Big Shot using Early Espresso cardstock. I then layered it with some Very Vanilla cardstock. The Christmas Postcard image is stamped in Early Espresso and I coloured in the berries with my Bravo Burgundy marker. I also spritzed with the same marker and sponged the edges with Old Olive ink.

For the bow, I used some Old Olive 1 1/4″ striped ribbon and cut it in half so it is a bit thinner. I then made a loop and a straight piece. I punched out a 1″ circle of Bravo Burgundy cardstock and added an Antique Brass Jumbo Eyelet to the centre. I then tied the ribbons and threaded through the eyelet with some 1/8″ Early Espresso Taffeta.

Lastly, I sprayed the whole thing with some Shimmer Mist!

Great challenge Operators – thank you!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Bravo Burgundy, Old Olive, Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla, Early Espresso.

Ink: Early Espresso, Old Olive.

Stamps: Christmas Postcard.

Accessories: Big Shot, Petals a Plenty Embossing Folder, Two Big Tags Bigz Die, Pennant Die, Jumbo Eyelets, 1″ circle punch, 1 1/4″ Old Olive striped ribbon, 1/8″ Early Espresso taffeta ribbon, spritzer tool.

14 thoughts on “Perfect Postcard

  1. GORGEOUS!!!! As always :)

  2. Awesome card!! I really love all your ideas. :-)

  3. Gorgeous, Carrie! I have struggled with this image too. You really did a great job with it here.

  4. Oh, no! Now you’ve made me want this stamp!

  5. Carrie I’m so glad that you used this stamp…I couldn’t picture it any other way besides colored in! Fabulous creation as always :)

  6. You are one AMAZING talent! This is absolutely gorgeous. TFS!

  7. Gorgeous as usual, Carrie! I love the colors and feel of this card!

  8. Inspired, indeed! Carrie — this is gorgeous! Great job with this week’s sketch. Thanks so much for playing along with the Stamping 411 Operators! Blessings, Gretchen

  9. I avoided purchasing this image because I thought it was too busy! I REALLY like how you just stamped it and didn’t color it in!!! You are an amazing stamper Carrie! I look forward to your posts!

  10. Another STUNNING piece of art Carrie!!!!! I love it!! Thanks for playing along with us this week!!

  11. This is a terrific card Carrie and I agree with the other posts- all of your work is amazing! Congratulations on being one of the top picks for the sketch challenge this week! Thanks again for sharing your talent with all of us- you are such an inspiration!

  12. I love how you have used the eyelet to make the bow. Very clever and it looks so eye catching.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment too. I see you are in the west so you have easy access to Murchies…you lucky woman you! :)

  13. This is a gorgeous card – I love how you tilted the main image.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 234 other followers