Artistic Avenger

Happy Fall

22 Comments

After the last two posts of some pretty ornate projects, I thought I’d bring something to the table that is a little less fussy and more clean and to the point.

The latest challenge (and first one!) on the SU Only Challenge Site is to create a Fall card. Well, where I live, when Fall starts, you know the rain is not far behind. The layout for this card was inspired by the Stamping 411 sketch this week – been a while since I’ve had time to play along with the Operators so I’m stoked to play this week!

So I thought I’d make my card with an umbrella as the focal point. Don’t have an umbrella stamp? Punch one! I used Baja Breeze cardstock and ran it through my Big Shot with the Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder. I punched out a piece with the 1 3/4″ circle punch and then cut it almost in half. Along the straight edge, I punched out small semi-circles using the 3/4″ circle punch. I then sponged it with Early Espresso ink. The handle is made using the Word Window punch and Early Espresso cardstock.

So, what comes with the rain? Raindrops and puddles! I used the Extreme Elements stamp set and stamped some Baja Breeze “raindrops” in behind the umbrella and then under the piece of layered cardstock, I added large River Rock “puddle”.

For the text, I used the “happy” from the happy birthday stamp in All Holidays. I hand cut it out and added it on the card with a mini library clip. For the word “fall” I cut out River Rock Naturally Serif letters. This piece is layered on Whisper White and then Cajun Craze.

The base of this card is Cajun Craze and the lower half is River Rock designer paper and the top is Whisper White. I ran some Early Espresso grosgrain over the seam.

Thanks for stopping by and Happy Fall!

Products used on this project:

Cardstock: Cajun Craze, River Rock, Whisper White, Baja Breeze.

Ink: Early Espresso, Baja Breeze, River Rock.

Stamps: All Holidays, Extreme Elements.

Accessories: Big Shot, Naturally Serif Alphabet, Vintage Wallpaper Embossing Folder, 1 3/4″ circle punch, 3/4″ circle punch, Word Window punch, Early Espresso 1/4″ grosgrain, stampin’ sponges, mini library clips.

22 thoughts on “Happy Fall

  1. Very cute! Love the use of the Extreme Elements stamp…perfect!

  2. This is a gorgeous card. Nice work.

  3. I love what your creative mind comes up with! This is simpler, but so well thought out. I LOVE how you used the Extreme Elements set with your umbrella! Nicely done! :D

    Cindy

  4. Oh my goodness! How absolutely darling! I love that cute little embossed umbrella! :)
    Thanks so much for joining us at SUO Challenges, we hope to see you again soon!

  5. Carrie you are just TOO clever…I love that umbrella!! I’m so glad you’re back to play along with us this week :)

  6. I love the umbrella!! Also the creative use of the Extreme Elements stamp. Thanks for playing along on SUO Challenges.

  7. Oh wow! This is super cute! Love the umbrella!

  8. I just love this little umbrella. So cool what you’ve done. I’m sure I will be casing it with many others. Thanks for sharing you super talent with all of us.

  9. Carrie, Carrie, Carrie — fabulous, as always! Love the card and all your attention to detail! Thanks for plyaing along with the Stamping 411 Operators this week. Blessings, Gretchen

  10. Another Carrie awesome original! Love it! LOVE it!

  11. Another Gorgeous Creation! I love your take on this clean and simple sketch.. You rocked it, as usual!

  12. Hi Carrie!!
    Thank you for playing with us at SUO Challenges! I read your blog every day and it was so fun to see our site mentioned on it!!
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the umbrella and the puddle detail! Makes rain seem like fun.

    Amy

  13. Your umbrella is fantastic. I love the colors and textures you used to make a seamlessly perfect card! Thanks for playing along at SUO Challenges!

  14. I have to tell you that you are the best paper ripper rumpler smudger I have ever seen! I just went through your last few posts and they are all gorgeous! If I tried it someone would say: Oh too bad someone stepped on your card! You have such artistic flair! Love that umbrella too!

  15. Love your creative card! Such great texture and fun umbrella!

  16. This is a great design. LOVE the umbrella and layout is awesome. The stamped images peeking out from the focal point is a nice touch.

  17. This is beautiful and (as a fellow wet-coaster) funny too!

  18. So pretty! Love your embossed umbrella! Congrats on Stamper’s Showcase :)

  19. What a darling umbrella. so pretty.

  20. Neato! So glad I found your blog through SUO, it ROCKS! Congrats on being a Top 3 pick, you deserve it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment, I very much appreciate it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 227 other followers